Support Services

Any parent or guardian who wants to explore how his/her child can benefit from any of the services listed below may consult first with the Head of School and/or the Senior Management Team (SMT). The parent/guardian will then be guided accordingly. (Under each service there is an interview with the respective professionals)

Student Services Department
Education Psycho-Social Servicesto assist learners in their holistic development as individuals and help them become active and responsible members of society.

Director:
Ms Sandra Cortis  |  Tel: 21252867  |  email: sandra.cortis@gov.mt

Referrals: through Heads of Schools

  • Anti-Bullying – Mr Louis Gauci, Tel: 2598 8422, louis.gauci@ilearn.edu.mt, co-ordinates the efforts of schools in anti-bullying programmes.

click here to listen to programme

  • Substance Abuse – Ms Christiana Bajada, Tel: 2598 8422, christiana.farrugia@ilearn.edu.mt, co-ordinates the efforts in preventing any substance abuse.

click here to listen to programme

  • Child Safety – Mr Noel Cremona, Tel: 25988423, noel.cremona@ilearn.edu.mt,  support learners who might have experienced abuse or are at the risk of it.

click here to listen to programme

  • Educational Psychologist – Ms Jennifer Cini, Tel: 2598 8418, cini.jennifer@ilearn.edu.mt,  facilitates the learning & development of students regarding academic failure.
  • Clinical Psychologist – Ms Allison Zammit Said, Tel: 2598 8421, alison.zammit.said@ilearn.edu.mt.

click here to listen to programme

  • Psychotherapist (vacant):  to increase the individual’s sense of his/her own ’well-being’ by employing a range of techniques.

click here to listen to programme

  • School Social Workers – supporting learners and their families with issues related to absenteeism and other social difficulties –                    Ms Rosaline Scicluna,  Tel: 2598 8416, rosaline.scicluna@gov.mt;   Ms Maria Portelli, Tel: 2598 8425, maria.portelli@gov.mt;            Ms Amy Zammit, Tel: 2598 8425, amy.a.zammit@gov.mt.
  • Social Support Worker – Ms Charlene Saliba, Tel: 2598 8417, charlene.saliba@gov.mt.

click here to listen to programme

Referrals Counselling: Students themselves, parents, Heads of Schools, Guidance Teachers, other teachers

  • Principal Education Support Practitioner (Counsellor) – Ms Sasha Farrugia: offering personal counselling to learners.
  • Education Support Practitioner (Councillor) – Ms. Joselle Camilleri, Tel: 2598 8411,  joselle.camilleri@ilearn.edu.mt.

click here to listen to programme

Education Support Practitioners (Career Advisors): Offering holistic guidance to students in embarking on a lifelong career journey

  • Career Advisor – Mr Thomas Camilleri, Tel: 2598 8428, thomas.camilleri.7@ilearn.edu.mt,  
  • Career Advisor – Ms. Rodianne Azzopardi, Tel: 2598 8436, rodianne.azzopardi@ilearn.edu.mt

Agenzija Zghazagh:
  • Youth Worker, Ms Angela Camilleri,   angela.c.camilleri@gov.mt.

Special Educationto provide the resources required for inclusive and special educational programmes and for other schemes related to individual educational needs in conjunction with colleges and schools.

Assistant Director:
Ms Darlene Borg  |  Tel: 21337193 emaildarlene.borg@ilearn.edu.mt

Referrals: through Heads of Schools

  • Home Tuition – Ms Kathy Grech, Tel: 2598 8431, katty.grech@ilearn.edu.mt,  Ms Joanne Vella Falzon, Tel: 2598 8439, joanne.falzon@ilearn.edu.mt: to provide the learner with a continuous education and to minimise the effects of absence from school due to for example, medical intervention.

click here to listen to programme

  • Early Intervention Teachers – Ms Marija Cassar, Tel: 2598 8435, marija.cassar@ilearn.edu.mt, Ms Grace Anne Caruana, grace-anne.caruana.2@ilearn.edu.mt:  provide a family centred and comprehensive support system for children with developmental disabilities or delays from birth to 5 years.

click here to listen to programme

  • Teachers of the Hearing-impaired – Ms Vicky Grech, Tel: 2598 8432, vicky.grech@ilearn.edu.mt,  Ms Miriam Hili, Tel: 2598 8434, mary.hili@ilearn.edu.mt, Ms Claire Micallef, Tel: 2598 8434, claire.mary.micallef@ilearn.edu.mt: provide a quality educational and audio-logical service for hard of hearing and hearing-impaired learners.

click here to listen to programme

Teacher of the Visually-impaired – Ms Glorianne Farrugia: empowering learners with visual impairment to develop their full potential by giving them support to access the curriculum.

  • Autism Support Teacher: empowering educators and parents to meet the individual educational needs of the child with autism.
  • SEBD (Social/Emotional/ Behaviour Difficulties) – Ms Louise Tabone: assisting learners and school with dealing with social-emotional and challenging behaviours.

click here to listen to programme

SpLD Service Malta: EO Dr Christine Firman 

  • SpLD Teachers – Ms Jocelyn Jones – Tel: 2598 8426, jocelyn.jones@ilearn.edu.mt,  Ms Joanna Tabone, Tel: 2598 8427, joanna.tabone@ilearn.edu.mt: provide a service for children with dyslexia and identifies specific learning difficulties of children referred to it.

click here to listen to programme


National Literacy Agency:  CEO Mr David muscat

  • Head of Department Literacy – Ms Elaine Ciantar, Tel: 2598 8403, elaine.ciantar@ilearn.edu.mt.
  • Literacy Support Teachers – Ms Jennifer Peresso, jennifer.peresso@ilearn.edu.mt, Ms M’Claude Scerri:  embedding the National Literacy strategy across the primary school of the Gozo College

click here to listen to programme


Inclusive Education to enhance children with various abilities at various levels.

Ms Josanne Ghirxi, Assistant Director Tel 21252868

  • Head of Department Inclusion – Ms Graziella Casha, Tel: 2598 8404, graziella.casha@ilearn.edu.mt,  Primary: Participate in the development of a college – wide Special Educational Needs (SEN) policy and provision in collaboration with the College Principal, the Senior Management Team (SMT), school staff students and parents.
  • Inclusion Support Teacher – Ms Josephine Micallef                              

click here to listen to programme

Maths SupportTeachers – Ms Jeanelle Attard, jeanelle.attard@ilearn.edu.mt,  Ms Maria Xuereb, maria.xuereb.5@ilearn.edu.mt,  Ms Antoinette Grech, antoinette.grech@ilearn.edu.mt: supporting Mathematics at the Gozo college primary schools.

click here to listen to programme


Other services at Gozo General Hospital working also in schools.

  • Occupational Therapists – Ms Theresien Mizzi,  Ms Therry Ann Parnis

click here to listen to programme

  • Speech & Language Pathologists – Ms Susanne Saliba, Ms Angela Scerri-Cassar,  Ms Vivienne Camilleri,  Ms Nicolanne Portelli,  Ms Tanya Vella, Ms Sharon Vella, MsAnne Marie Borg Marks.

click here to listen to programme

Embracing Diversity